Time for Truth Campaign at European Parliament, Brussels

Special Thanks to Martina Anderson MEP

On behalf of the families of the Time for Truth Campaign, we extend our warm thanks to Martina Anderson MEP for her unwavering support of our campaign since its inception in February 2018.

Not only has Martina championed legacy issues since her election to the European Parliament in 2014, over the last year she has been key to helping us raise awareness of our campaign objectives with MEPs from across Europe, namely our simple demands for:

1. The implementation of the Stormont House Agreement in compliance with basic human rights laws;

2. The proper funding of the legacy inquest system as laid out by Lord Chief Justice Morgan; and

3. The proper resourcing of the Office of the Police Ombudsman

Martina has also hosted families of the Time for Truth Campaign on visits to the European Parliaments in both Strasbourg (October 2018) and Brussels (February 2019). During each of these hugely successful trips, our families were able to meet with MEPs and to tell them of our families’ experiences. For many families, it was the first time that their voices had been heard at such a political level.

In Strasbourg, Martina even organised for us to meet with the newly appointed European Commissioner for Human Rights, Dunja Mijatović, to update her on the British state’s on-going failure to deal with the past in the north of Ireland.

All of our families came away from each trip assured that the legacy of the past remains a focus for Martina and her team. Whilst we know that it will remain a focus after she goes, we know we are losing a great champion of our cause due to Brexit.


Yours faithfully,


Time for Truth Committee

Including Families of

McGurk’s Bar Commemoration Committee, Loughinisland Justice Group, Ballymurphy Massacre Committee, Sean Graham Ormeau Road Bookies Campaign, New Lodge Six Campaign, Bloody Sunday Campaign, and families of Aidan McAnespie, Stan Carberry and Seamus Ludlow, John O Hara, Brian Campbell and Colm McGirr among others.

Scroll to Top